Book Review: Nectar in a Sieve

Nectar in a Sieve (Signet Classics)Nectar in a Sieve by Kamala Markandaya

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of the best readings on colonial India. Told from the POV of a village woman from the day of her marriage until late in her life. Students seem to really enjoy the straight forward and simple narrative. I first read this as part of my junior english class in 1995, thanks Mrs. Thomson. It has to be the first female protagonist that I actually like to read about. I read the book in two nights, seven days ahead of schedule. I would also have to say that the relationship between Irrawady and her parents makes for a great discussion about parents with kids who make bad decisions.

View all my reviews

About Model_BFW

Social Studies and English Assistant Professor at Model Lab School, EKU. My interests include education technology, social media in the classroom, politics, creativity studies, comic books, and writing.

Posted on March 3, 2011, in Book Reviews, English, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

